New clubs for UCL

19 May 2019 in News

New clubs for UCL New clubs for UCL

Boston Town are set to play FIVE new Leicestershire clubs next season.

The FA's provisional allocations for 2019-20 have placed Anstey Nomads, Lutterworth Town, Loughborough University, Quorn and Shepshed Dynamo in the United Counties League Premier Division.

They will replace Daventry Town, Newport Pagnell, Eynesbury Rovers, Wellingborough Whitworth and Kirby Muxloe.

Anstey Nomads and Lutterworth Town have both been promoted from UCL Division One while Loughborough University, Quorn and Shepshed Dynamo all move from the Midland League Premier. The latter have both previously played in the UCL.

Daventry are promoted to the Southern League Central Division while Wellingborough Whitworth are relegated to the UCL Division One and demoted Kirby Muxloe switch to Midland League Division One.

Newport Pagnell and Eynesbury - two of the longest away trips for the Poachers - both switch to the South Midlands League Premier. There had been rumours that Newark Flowserve would also move to the United Counties League but they've actually been promoted to the Midland League Premier.

The changes mean Leicestershire will be the dominant county in the UCL with no fewer than eight clubs in the Premier Division. There will be five each from Northamptonshire - originally the league's heartland - and Lincolnshire.


Older Newer