Boston Football Club formed after a public meeting held at the town's Assembly Rooms in the summer of 1964 following a row over money matters which led to Boston United opting out of senior non-league football. 

FC first played in the Lincs League and Central Alliance League, winning both at a canter under Paul Todd. New manager Bill Curry brought them the Midland League title in 1974-75 before he was replaced by Bob Don-Duncan. Boston FC reached the 1st Round Proper of the FA Cup in November 1976, playing Barnsley away in front of a 6,000 plus crowd. The end of that season brought more silverware, with FC triumphing 2-1 on aggregate against Alfreton in the Midland League Cup Final. The 1978-79 season saw FC become champions again and they also won the Lincs Senior A Cup three times in a row.

The 1979-80 season saw a thrilling FA Trophy run in which they beat holders Stafford Rangers before losing to Mossley in a replay. The Midland League title was won for a third time in 1980-81 by a commanding 13 points over second-placed Alfreton.

When the Midland League was disbanded, FC joined the Northern Counties East League, which was dominated by new names like Shepshed Charterhouse. Bob Don-Duncan was succeeded by a string of bosses including Percy Freeman, Trevor Thompson, Steve Rogers, Martyn Boyers and Jim Kabia. Under Bill Brindley, FC enjoyed another title triumph 1986-87 – this time becoming champions of the Central Midlands League.

The club joined the United Counties League in 1990-91 and were renamed Boston Town soon afterwards. With Bob Don-Duncan back at the helm, they won the United Counties League for the first time in 1994-95. A year earlier The Poachers had come close to making an appearance at Wembley, losing narrowly in the FA Vase semi-final to Taunton.  The 2000-01 season ended with another enthralling climax. This time, Town pipped Cogenhoe on the last day of the season, with, Ian Shooter grabbing the all-important goal in stoppage time. In 2007-08, Gary Bull become the club's all-time leading goalscorer – he eventually hung up his boots with 201 goals to his credit, having also smashed the club record for most goals in a season with a remarkable 57 in 2006-07.

The Poachers secured further silverware in the 2008-09 season when they won the Lincolnshire Senior Trophy for the first time in 19 years, defeating Winterton Rangers 2-0 in the final held at Lincoln City’s Sincil Bank stadium. Following a disappointing 2009-10 season, Bob Don-Duncan departed again – and since then the club have appointed a string of managers to try to bring back success on the field. The hot seat has been filled by Martyn Lakin, the duo of Ian Dunn and Matt Hocking, Nathan Collins in two spells, Dan Barrett, Mark Angel and Gary Frost.

In 2017, Frost led the Poachers to their best FA Cup run for four decades, beating three sides from higher leagues. After the team continued to struggle in the league, he was replaced in January 2018 by Dennis Greene, but Greene’s reign was also short-lived.

Frost’s former head coach Gary Edgley took over as manager in August 2018 and has revitalised the club’s fortunes. Despite their lowly league position, he has brought a feelgood factor back to the club and made some impressive signings for the 2019-20 season.

You can find out much more about the club's past by buying the acclaimed book Come And Sit With Us, a 200-page history featuring archive photos